The Palate Jack Goes Fulltime

It is true, The Palate Jack has decided it is time to make the avocation the vocation. Other people will now carry on with the environmental cleanup, whilst I turn my attention full-time to writing on the lifestyle subjects of slow food, good beverages, conviviality and travel. What can you expect from a kid who would play hooky from school so he could read the dictionary in bed!?

This quote caught my attention and seemed to sum up my personal zeitgeist:

George Herbert 1593-1633

Do not wait; the time will never be ‘just right.‘ Start where you stand, and work with whatever tools you may have at your command, and better tools will be found as you go along.

Ol’ George and I don’t have much in common other than wordsmithing. He was an Anglican priest with an understated wardrobe who died at 39. On the other hand, I am better fed, already older, and with more colorful vêtements.

Back to the writing… the goals for the first year are to contribute more pieces to periodicals, knock out a book or two, and keep the world apprised of my progress via this web log. I am currently igniting new and older publishing acquaintances and looking into both “publish on demand” services and traditional publishers for the book projects.

For the next few months I’ll be burning the proverbial paraffin from both ends while packing up from Nevada and migrating to softer, greener Hobbit holes. My heartfelt appreciation goes out to everyone who has supported me in this decision. I know what it means to have true friends. By mid-summer the web log should be cruising along with regular additions. There’s no time like the present to sign on for the email or other feeds! Please do. TPJ

Leave a Reply

Recent Postings

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  
